Ski legend Johnny Mosley, now a TV personality and the current voice of Warren Miller Entertainment’s long-running ski film series, hosted the 18th Annual Powder Awards on Thursday night in Breckenridge, Colorado. He opened with a tribute to some of his favorite moments in ski film history, including several from skiers and filmmakers in the crowd.

“The truth is very few things actually come out of nowhere,” Mosley said. “They’re always inspired by someone or something, and that’s what we’re here to honor: those filmmakers, those skiers, all the photographers at the world’s longest running ski awards show, the 18th annual Powder Awards… we’re a small family and this night brings us together, everyone, to celebrate another sick year of skiing.”

Numinous was the biggest winner of the night, taking Best Movie of the Year honors and earning a Full Throttle Award – aka the Shane McConkey Award – for star Kye Petersen and a Best Line Award for Logan Pehota. Numinous – from Vancouver-based Dendrite Studios and director Nicolas Teichrob – also won the Best Post-Production award.

“There’s so many good movies these days it’s pretty crazy,” Petersen said, accepting the award alongside director Teichrob. “To be up here is amazing.” Numinous also stars Tatum Monod, Matty Richard, Pep Fujas, Chris Rubens, Callum Pettit, Dane Tudor, Wiley Miller, and snowboarder Ryland Bell.

Best Female Performance went to Tatum Monod for her part in Habit from Level 1 Productions, while Best Male Performance went to Sammy Carlson for To Be, from his own Sammy Calrson Productions.

“This is definitely a bucket list for me, so I’m super hyped,” Monod said. “This season definitely made me realize just how lucky I am to do what I love.”

The fan-favorite Powder Poll Awards Presented By Toyota, as voted by Powder Magazine readers, went to Caroline Gleich and Candide Thovex.

“I’m incredibly grateful to my fans and followers who voted for me and have supported me,” said Gleich, a ski mountaineer based in Salt Lake City, Utah. “Social media is a really funny thing because it can be such a nasty place but it can also be a place where we can find incredible support and community.”

Among her many other achievements, in spring 2017 Gleich became the first woman and the fourth person to ski all 90 lines in “The Chuting Gallery,” the classic guidebook to steep skiing in the Wasatch Mountains in Utah and Idaho. Gleich is also a vocal member of Protect Our Winters, and has been actively lobbying Senators and Representatives in Washington, DC. “To be able to ski professionally, to be able to ski at all, it’s the ultimate freedom and it’s such a luxury and a privilege,” Gleich said. “It’s been really cool to see how many skiers are getting vocal about climate change and public lands protection, and that’s something I want to encourage everyone in this room to get really vocal in support of because we have crazy battles ahead.”

Thovex, a Powder Awards regular, sent his acceptance speech via text from his hometown of La Clusaz, France. “I apologize that I could not make it to the Powder Awards this year: snow came early here in La Clusaz, and I have been busy working on a few exciting projects for you all,” Thovex said. “A big thank you to Powder Mag and everyone who voted: it really means a lot to me. Congrats to all the winners and all the nominees tonight.”

Best Documentary went to 2.5 Million, the story of Tyler Wilkinson-Ray’s record 2.5 million vertical feet skied in a single year (332 days, to be exact), shattering the previous record of 2 million vertical feet. Best Short went to the web series Tales of Vienna: Seeking Nirvana.

The award for Best Cinematography went to The Time Within, a super-slo-mo powder short filmed in Japan for DPS Skis by Ben Sturgulewski, using a Phantom VEO 640s camera at 1600 frames per second.

Photographer Ming T. Poon won Photo of the Year for a shot of skier Cody Townsend at sunset above the clouds at Lake Tahoe. Two large prints of the photo were auctioned off to benefit the High Fives Foundation, a non-profit organization known as “the safety net of the mountain action sports community” that provides resources and inspiration to those who suffer life altering injuries.

LJ Strenio won Best Jib for a clip from Level 1 Productions’ Habit, and Keegan Kilbride won Best Breakthrough Performance, also for a part in Habit. Tanner Hall won Best Air, for an enormous double backflip over a gap for the Armada Skis film Triumph. MSP Films won Best Powder for Drop Everything, starring Chris Rubens, Eric Hjorleifson, and Mark Abma.

For more on the 18th Annual Powder Awards, including a full list of nominees, visit

Sound off in the comments below!

Join the conversation