(Photo above: All 16 of the park and street USA National Skateboarding Team. Photo: Ortiz)
On Tuesday, March 20th skateboarders, parents, and media from multiple platforms gathered at CA Training Facility in Vista, CA for the announcement of the first-ever USA national skateboarding team. With the help from Toyota and Nike, 16 skateboarders, including Nyjah Huston, Mariah Duran, Zion Wright, Brighton Zeuner, and more join together to form the first-ever USA skateboarding national team. Both park and street events will make their Olympic debut at the 2020 Tokyo Summer Games.

The eight women and men chosen for the USA national team qualified based on their performances in international level events during the year before their selection. Skateboarders will have the opportunity to qualify for the 2020 Summer Games based on three of their best results in the 2019 qualify season (now through September 15, 2019) and six best results during the 2020 qualifying season (September 16, 2019 – May 31, 2020).

Men’s street and park USA National Team (from left to right): Nyjah Huston, Chris Joslin, Zion Wright, Jagger Eaton, Tristan Rennie, Tom Schaar, Alex Sorgente, and Louie Lopez. Photo: Oritz (click to enlarge)

Skateboarders announced to the USA National Team for Park includes:

Women’s Park

Brighton Zeuner (Encinitas, CA)
Bryce Wettstein (Encinitas, CA)
Jordyn Barratt (Haleiwa, HI)
Nicole Hause (Stillwater, MN)

Men’s Park

Alex Sorgente (Lake Worth, FL)
Tom Schaar (Malibu, CA)
Tristan Rennie (Rialto, CA)
Zion Wright (Jupiter, FL)

Women’s park and street USA National Skateboarding team (from left to right): Lacey Baker, Nicole Hause, Brighton Zeuner, Bryce Wettstein, Alexis Sablone, Jenn Soto, Mariah Duran, and Jordyn Barratt. Photo: Ortiz (click to enlarge)

Skateboarders announced to the USA National Team for Street includes:

Women’s Street

Alexis Sablone (Old Saybrook, CT)
Jenn Soto (Jersey City, NJ)
Lacey Baker (Covina, CA)
Mariah Duran (Albuquerque, NM)

Men’s Street

Chris Joslin (Hawaiian Gardens, CA)
Jagger Eaton (Mesa, AZ)
Louie Lopez (Hawthorne, CA)
Nyjah Huston (Laguna Beach, CA)

Sound off in the comments below!

Join the conversation