King of Wake 2009 Dates Announced

King of Wake 2009 Dates Announced

Orlando, Fla. – The King of Wake series, the world’s elite pro wakeboarding circuit, is set to kick off a brand-new season of high-flying, rail-sliding, water-sports action as World Sports & Marketing, the series organizer, today announces the complete schedule for the 2009 season.

The 2009 series features eight stops throughout the United States and more than $300,000 in prize money over the eight-event season. Athletes compete during the course of the year to be named the “King of Wake” – an award based on points accumulated at each stop of the series. Events included in the 2009 series are: the Wake Games, the WWA Wakeboard National Championships, the WWA Wakeboard World Championships and all five stops on the Pro Wakeboard Tour.

Complete 2009 King of Wake Schedule

April 23-26 Orlando, Fla. Wake Games Orlando Watersports Complex
May 29-31 Fort Worth, Texas Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #1 Texas MasterCraft
June 19-21 Pleasant Prairie, Wis. Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #2 Prairie Springs Park
June 27-28 Knoxville, Tenn. Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #3 Volunteer Landing
July 8-12 Oklahoma City, Okla. WWA National Championships Oklahoma River
July 18-19 Louisville, Ky. Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #4 Freeman Lake Park
Aug. 14-16 Sparks/Reno, Nev. Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #5 Sparks Marina
Aug.27-30 Orlando, Fla. WWA World Championships Orlando Watersports Complex

To keep the points race close, the King of Wake series features the “Chase for the Crown” format. The Chase limits the eligibility for the crown to the top-10 highest points-earners midway through the season. Following the fifth stop of the series, only the current top-10-ranked athletes in the standings will receive a point bonus, adjusting their totals to keep the points race tight, and making only the top 10 eligible for the King of Wake crown.

Joining the men of the King of Wake are the pro women of wakeboarding with their own series, the Queen of Wake. The Queen of Wake is a five-stop series comprising the Wake Games, the WWA Wakeboard National Championships, the WWA Wakeboard World Championships and the first and last stops of the Pro Wakeboard Tour.

Last year, Phillip Soven claimed the 2008 King of Wake crown, while Nicola Butler captured the Queen of Wake title. Both Soven and Butler are set to defend their titles in 2009 against the world’s top riders.

Sound off in the comments below!

Join the conversation